Belmont Stakes Past Winners

Belmont Stakes Past Winners

History of the Belmont Stakes

Belmont Stakes Past Winners. The Belmont Stakes was first run on June 19, 1867, at the Jerome Park Race Course in New York. With its rare 1 1/2-mile distance and rather challenging three turns (as opposed to two), the Belmont Stakes has established itself as the ultimate test of championship stamina in this country.

In its early days, the Belmont Stakes was run at 1 5/8 miles through 1873, but from 1890 through 1926 the race dropped down to 1 1/2 miles and has been run at that distance ever since.

Belmont Stakes Past Winners. Champion Sires:

Man o’ War heads the list of Belmont champion sires. Not only did he win the race himself in 1920, but three of his subsequent sires won it as well: American Flag in 1925, Crusader in 1926 and War Admiral in 1937, who went on to win the Triple Crown.

The Belmont Stakes, the final and most demanding leg of the Triple Crown, is named after August Belmont who had been a leading banker and racing man of the 19th century.

Six Fastest Belmont Stake Races

6 Fastest Belmont Stake Races

Belmont Stakes Past Winners

Belmont Stakes Past Winners

This entry was posted in Belmont Stakes. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.